WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY.....or

CONTENTMENT IN RETIREMENT!  I don’t think I have ever met anyone who is as contented as Mr. HCB - well his father was just as contented, so perhaps he gets this from him.

I was up very late this morning - I won’t say how late, but when one is retired, then one can stay in bed as long as one likes!

Mr. HCB, meanwhile, told me that he was up at his usual time of 6.30 and had had his breakfast, sorted out the washing, tidied the kitchen, had been out into the garden and was about to go out and wash the outside of the greenhouse.    It made me tired just thinking of all he had done!

So as this week seems to be “majoring” on Mr. HCB, I thought I would sneak a quick pic from the landing window.  Here he is washing down the greenhouse - we collected lots of rubbish useful stuff from our younger son’s house when he moved abroad, so this sponge mop has come in very handy.  After disinfecting the greenhouse yesterday, hopefully, it won’t smell quite as pungent so perhaps he will be moving some of his plants out there from the conservatory.  Not that I mind, of course, but it is becoming rather crowded with soil, plant pots, watering cans, seed trays etc.  

This quote just about sums up Mr. HCB:

“To be content doesn’t mean
     you don’t desire more,
it means you’re thankful
     for what you have
          and patient
for what’s to come.”
Tony Gaskins

P.S.  When I told Mr. HCB that I had taken a photograph of him and was using it again today, his comment was “Oh no, it’s not Mr. HCB week, is it?”  Better think of how I can make him into an Abstract for tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.