CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Waiting for a kingfisher

It has been a fine sunny but windy day and I suddenly decided to go looking for a local kingfisher. I know they live on the River Frome near the site of the ruins of Capel's Mill, which is close to the newly restored canal right under the large railway viaduct. This area of the river is now managed as a wildlife reserve even though it is only a few hundred yards from the centre of the town.

You may have spotted my blips from here before but from spring onwards the scene is shrouded by dense tree which line both sides of the river. It is a busy spot as several paths meet at this spot where a footbridge allows people to cross the river and also explore its banks. I took this picture of a woman walking her dog and these old stones which are the remnants of the mill where the mill wheel would once have been sited to harness the river's power. Many dog walkers allow their dogs to enter the water here because there is access down to the water level above the old weir.

I went to stand at my usual position just behind where the woman is standing. From there I can watch birds flying up and down the river, and watch white-throated dippers scrambling over the rocks and water's edge to feed. the kingfishers have a nest within a few yards of here. 

I took up my kingfisher viewing position with my camera pointing into the distance and within a couple of minutes I saw the flash of blue as one passed me flying downstream. I waited patiently and a little while later another flew in the same direction. I was nearly prepared but still only managed to catch a bit of its rear, a sight that always delights me even if I don't get a good picture.  I have added it as an 'Extra photo' and you might be able to spot its blue streak in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.