Two Fires

Late today the two fires on the Port Hills appear to be under control. The wind has dropped and it's cooler which will help.

At least one home is gone along with many sheds, stock, and animals. It's a sad and anxious time for many. Someone at work occasionally had a look out the windows towards the hills, their home at risk if one of the fires advanced from the summit and down the other side to Governors Bay.

A helicopter dropping monsoon buckets of water to fight both fires crashed killing the pilot. All the other helicopters were suspended from flying but they're operating again now. I can just see them from home and the local park. They look so tiny and are dwarfed by the clouds of smoke.

I saw my GP after work. Some bits of me are faring better than others. Happily my blood pressure is perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.