Somber

The fires on the Port Hills are out of control. The wind changed direction this afternoon and suddenly homes on the town side of the hills were threatened. I have no idea how many have been destroyed but it will be many.

It's sobering stuff. Sadly the helicopter pilot killed yesterday while fighting the fires is known to me. There are many devastated by this tragedy. My friends who grieve the loss of Steve and other friends and colleagues who have fled their homes and don't know their fate. A state of emergency has been declared in my city.

I've seen fires on the hills before but nothing like this, nothing on this scale, nothing so all encompassing. I guess it's the closest NZ has seen to an Australian style bush fire for many years.

As I biked home from work I watched countless helicopters with monsoon buckets flying into the billowing smoke. I thought of Steve, of how these guys must feel, and of how selfless they are. It was moving. The fire fighters are all heros.

So a sad day for me and an unnerving one. It's grim.

There is an upside. I've conditionally sold my home tonight after just one open home. I've been on the market for 5 days. Maybe you didn't see that coming but it's what the concentrated work on my home has been about. I made the decision to sell while I was out for me quake repair. It's a great offer and opportunity. Now I need to find another place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.