RIVER DERWENT

Had a lazy morning.  Then this afternoon I stirred myself to walk down to the village to go to the bank.  I needed to transfer some money to Becky and Mike ( house deposit ).  Becky texted this evening to say the money was already in their account  - good service from Barclays.

Then I got the bus to Swalwell to pay a visit to Lidl.  The shop has been closed for refurbishment and has recently opened again. 

As Lidl is quite near The River Derwent I made a quick detour to take some photos. I liked the reflections in my main shot. It was taken around 4pm when the light was just fading. I was standing on another bridge to take the photo - see my extra shot.  The blue footbridge is the Sands Suspension Bridge and was built in 1903 to link the allotments on either side of the river. It is known locally as The Hikey Bridge or The Shaky Bridge -  it does tend to wobble as you walk across.

It was lovely and peaceful down by the river - just me and a couple of ducks - and the hum of the traffic on the A1 which is behind the trees on the right of my photo.

The weather has been better today - brighter and not quite so cold.

Listened to the match on the radio this evening.  Newcastle were away at Norwich.  What a match it was - so much going on.  Newcastle scored after only 24 seconds.  However Norwich then scored 2 goals.  Newcastle played well and  managed to equalise so a precious point was gained.

Steps today - 6,805

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.