The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Monday 13th February 2017)

I got out earlier than normal because I spotted a rare colour in the sky - blue - and wanted to catch it before it disappeared. My first port of call was Marsh Lane at the bottom of the Caen Hill lock flight, keeping an eye out for the resident kingfishers, but there were no birds of any description to be seen and since I didn't want to re-take views I had photographed before I got no shots in the fifteen minutes I spent there. I drove up to the top of the flight and reparked near Caen Hill Café, mainly to check on the swans.
On my last visit I had seen the surviving cygnet, now fully grown, but not the breeding pair. This time the opposite was the case. The pair were at the Caen Hill Mooorings just above the café, one on the water and the other on the towpath, but the cygnet was absent. I suspect it may have fled the nest now, as it will soon be nest-building time for the parents.
I have chosen this image as my blip as it shows one of the swans taking an interest in a pair of homing pigeons (the pen swan is just out of shot).
I have seen the pigeons there before and suspect a householder nearby must keep them. A little later a large flock of them took off from the trees behind the moorings.

L.
15.2.2017 (1302 hr)

Blip #2027 (#2277 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2017 #036
Day #2517 (504gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1262 (#1388 including 126 on archived blips)

Caen Hill series
Devizes series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Swan series

A Visit To Caen Hill Locks, 13 February 2017 (Flickr album of 15 images)

Taken with Pentax K-1 and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

Lozarhythm of the Day:
The War On Drugs - An Ocean In Between The Waves (recorded 2013-2014)
From Lost In The Dream, played on this day.

One Year Ago:
Bowood 2016 #1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.