Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mountain reflections

Another beautiful sunny day and warmer than the beginning of the week. We had a good morning skiing until Gavin encouraged me to do a certain run that I never usually do as it runs along the back of one mountain and is never well groomed - it was icy, very churned up and full of dips and jumps and had some tight hairpin corners where I nearly ended up down the mountainside! Not my finest skiing and of course it was all Gavin's fault for 'making' me do it! We had lunch on the terrace of a restaurant in the bright sunshine, jackets off as it was warm enough - it was quite heavenly. I noticed some people seemed to be settled in and I doubt they did too much skiing, but then the weather is glorious and is to be enjoyed while it is like this.

We came down in the early afternoon, and I was due to meet two friends for coffee at a favourite coffee shop but I got to a text to say that G had fallen while skiing this morning and was in hospital with a broken rib and suspected concussion (thankfully there was no concussion). Poor her, what a blow for this to happen.

I took some photos of the reflections on the village reservoir - unfortunately the ducks kept swimming towards me and upsetting the calm water, so I got rippled reflections. The extra is of a little barn I noticed today while skiing. 

Last night after supper we ended up watching Trainspotting on TV - not exactly a romantic choice for Valentine's Day! Gavin was keen to see it, but I actually don't think he knew what it was all about (yes, you may well ask which rock he has been living under for the past 21 years) and within minutes of watching it he was quite shocked and taken aback - anyway, we ended up only watching half of it and will watch the other half tonight. I admit I could not always understand what they were saying as their Scottish accents are so strong, but if you closed your eyes for the gritty, graphic bits it is an excellent movie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.