Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The lift up the mountain.

Poor Luke had a dreadful journey back to Durham yesterday. After leaving us at 8.30am yesterday morning he finally got to his house in Durham at 1am the following day due to numerous cancelled trains. He had to re-route via York and even then he found himself sitting outside in the freezing cold at York station at 11.30pm waiting for another train to get to Durham. I was thinking how he always seems to have such bad luck and then I reminded myself that he was safe and healthy, and when I consider the five people killed in an avalanche at Tigne yesterday, I realised with the type of risky skiing he does that could have been him, so he has been really lucky after all! He does ski with an avalanche transceiver and related equipment, and has had avalanche training, so that gives me some comfort but I felt a bit shaken at the news of that avalanche. 

Gavin had to go to meetings in Zurich today, so I decided not to ski on my own - the others went skiing and I went for a lovely walk in the bright sunshine instead. We have been so lucky with the weather this week, the high altitude causes the air to be so crisp and fresh and the sky so very blue, it is just so beautiful. 

I went up the mountain to get some photos of the valley below, as I can never do that when I am skiing. The gondola happened to come past as I was standing there and I thought it made a good blip. I have added an extra for Valentine's Day of a romantic couple going for a walk. 

Gavin and I gave each other cards for Valentines Day and he also bought me some lovely chocolate but forgot to pack it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.