Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Valentines Day

Gavin and I went up the mountain earlier than yesterday, and to our surprise there were absolutely no queues at all today. Its a bit like the M25 - sometimes one sits idling in the traffic for ages for no apparent reason and other times it flows beautifully. It was another cold morning - it started off at -17C again, but today I was more prepared and wore a balaclava under my helmet. However by midday it rose to the balmy temperature of -13C!!

We had a good day skiing, the snow was in perfect condition and the pistes  were very well groomed. My ankle was a bit sore (the one I sprained about 2 weeks ago) but I kept going. 

I read a local article about how the heavy snowfalls this season have caused problems for the wildlife, as usually they dig down to get to their food but the snow is just too deep this year. I think rangers are putting food out for the animals. We have never seen any antelope when we are skiing, but today we saw a female chamois quite near to a group of wooden huts on one of the runs, possibly searching for food, and this morning we saw another one from our kitchen window near to some houses below us. I think they were chamois, they certainly were not ibex. 

Being Valentines Day today (and Ash Wednesday), Gavin and I are going out to supper. We are making supper for the boys before we go out so they won't be starving! Actually, they are always eating - last night they wanted a snack so made pizzas at midnight when we had already gone to bed! I am feeling quite weary from all the exercise and cold fresh air so I hope I don't fall asleep during my dinner....my Valentine will not be impressed!

It was blue skies all morning again today, but snow is forecast for tomorrow late in the afternoon so these clouds rolling in could be due to the change in the weather. I liked the colours of the skiers against that pale background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.