And the glory shone around...

A funny old day weather-wise.  It ended rather gloriously though.  I think.  This was the view from the "guest-bedroom".(!!!!)

We thought we had readjusted our body clocks from our Anti-podean adventures, but, following our excursion to London yesterday, we were in bed by 8.30pm and up at 5.30am.  In the pool at the gym by 6.30am.  Got a lot done so far today, but I don't hold out much hope for staying up late!  Busy day tomorrow and presentation to do in the evening so I hope I can stay awake long enough for that!

I went to try to make sure that Mom and Dad got to church in time for the 10am service this morning.  It would be ok if Mom just did what I asked her to do instead of questioning every last little thing, walk like a snail, and keep worrying about the cat she has taken a liking to who lives with one of the neighbours but keeps coming for milk and nibbles.  Having been fed by Mom once this morning, I went downstairs again to find Dad feeding him too!  She tried the "My eyes are hurting me" trick (a new one) to try to get out of going to church (It's a bit scary when you can't remember what it's going to be like and why you are going), but she forgot all about that once the cat came back and tried to get in again...  

And so it goes on.  I've been doing some reading about safeguarding those living with dementia - what a minefield.  Dad worries about Mom claiming that he hits her.  She told me not to hit her on Monday.  But then what about the emotional abuse Dad might suffer as a result of those claims?
Best not to think about all that maybe.

The to do list was long today, and a lot has been achieved.  I love having time to do so many different things.  Why did I ever go to work at all!?

Hope you have all had a day with some glory in it somewhere and that deep inside you there is a little glow of happiness and achievement...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.