Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

O Happy Day!

I cannot believe it! Living amongst lots of trees in the woods, I consider we are fortunate to have hummingbirds visiting our feeders. On the flip side, it is nearly impossible to ever get a good photo of the hummers because we have two foot overhangs that cause the feeders to be always shaded. Yes, I know....hang the feeders elsewhere.

Well, this morning, I was out on the porch enjoying the coolness when I saw "something" in the Butterfly Bushes. Since I have learned (the hard way) to always keep the camera(s) nearby, I grabbed the Nikon and looked over the railing.

There in the bushes was a hummer! I was sure he would leave as soon as he saw me, but he didn't! Instead, each time the mirror moved when a photo was shot, he simply moved to yet another bract!

Yes, I know, no big deal to many, as I have seen outstanding photos of hummers displayed on Blip. But, a very big deal for me!

I consider this must be sign.....yesterday, I bought two Butterfly Bushes marked down to $5.00. We plan to landscape our side yard and now....methinks a Butterfly/Hummingbird Garden might be in the plans!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.