Abstract Thursday : : Moss and Stone

It was a visitor who noticed the layer of moss that has grown on my Sleeping Baby Buddha over the winter. In the course of taking his picture I realized that a close up made a rather nice abstract. 

I don't think he was really meant to nap outside for so many years. He was carved in Ubud, Bali and slept peacefully in Piedmont Yoga Studio in Oakland where I taught a restorative class for people with cancer. When the studio downsized, Baby Buddha had nowhere to go, so I bought him and took him home with me....not an easy task since he weighs hundreds of pounds...

He lived in our tiny back patio and would grow a layer of blackish mold every winter which I would attempt to remove in the spring. When we moved, he came along. I thought he might be less inclined to get moldy here where it is much sunnier and he did do better, but this year it has rained so much that he needed an extra thick protective layer of moss. It apparently has served him well because he has slept peacefully on....

I am currently looking for a place where I can teach the class again. I started it at the urging of my sister-in-law who died of ovarian cancer, but benefitted greatly from a class she took at Duke University Hospital. I had a nice arrangement with Rodney Yee, who let me use studio space in Oakland for the class rent free so that I could offer it for free. It was a wonderful class  and I learned more from those people than I ever taught them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.