Flower Friday : : Gerbera Daisies

Some days are just off kilter. It is President's Day weekend which has become just another way of saying it's a three or four day ski weekend. When I was growing up, we had a holiday on Abraham Lincoln's birthday February 12, and another one on George Washington's birthday on February 22. It didn't matter what day of the week it fell on. That was the day of the holiday. Over time it was decided in the name of efficiency and long weekends to move the holidays to the nearest Fridays, and then, even more efficient, to combine them and have the date that didn't coincide with any president's birthday. Who decides these things anyway?

The real reason for the holiday has become lost in the mists of time, so this morning I wasn't sure if today was the official holiday, or if it is on Monday. One never knows if stores will be open or closed. But like death and taxes one can be sure that if it is a holiday, government offices will be closed and the mail won't be delivered. Despite the dismal rain, I found my Pilates class happening as usual, the dermatologist was still waiting for me so that she could take her semi annual ounce of flesh and the grocery store was open as usual. I took advantage of their flower stand for my flower shot since any new growth that has dared reveal itself outside has been blown down, knocked over or beaten into the ground by the wind and rain.

The good news is that we are expecting Blippers Connections and Philpo for dinner. They live in Bellingham Washington, so I expect they are more used to the rain and will complain far less about it than we do, although I hope it doesn't spoil their vacation in Sonoma County.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.