The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Not-quite-in-focus crocus

The crocuses bloom again,
The silken violet reaches from the green,
Nestling its golden yellow smile for the sun,
Night is over! The last of winter's fingers fade,
And beneath the budding blossom shade,
The crocuses bloom again.

I found this poem on the hello poetry! Website. It was posted by MsAmendable in 2016.

Spring was definitely here today. What a change! Everywhere the sound of birdsong. I took the bus to near the Sound Therapy studio, then wandered around in the garden looking at the river and the snowdrops. I had the drum beaten over me today.

After I left, as I walked back towards the bus stop, I saw a stream of purple tumbling down the grassy bank on the pavement's edge. I had manoeuvre past a furniture van to reach these crocuses, but it was worth the effort. My phone cam does not do macro shots, though. I miss them. Maybe I'll take my actual camera with me next week and see if they are still there, in one piece. Earlier would be better, but it's on the other side of Stroud...

CleanSteve and I went to Cheltenham in the afternoon. He may well write about it, so I will not. Somehow I have ended up with a massive headache, which is, literally, a massive pain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.