The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Remains of the barn

One side of the valley is in sunshine, the other in shade. B and I enjoyed a great walk, once more on the Boundary court estate. We explored for a while and got muddy, but never found the short cut I was looking for.

I tidied up, and then didn't know what to do! As I was going about the house, there was a sudden loud noise, followed by a rattling of china on the dresser, and the gentle knocking of the cupboard against the wall. B, the dog, didn't seem bothered, but my brain registered "Earthquake!" I dismissed this thought, replacing it with an image of an Argos lorry coming up the hill and causing the house to shake.

A little while later, I was attempting to write to my half sister in Mexico, and mentioned that I hoped she was ok, because there'd been earthquakes in Oaxaca. I happened to Google earthquakes, and found that there really HAD been an earthquake in the UK around 2.30 pm! It was centred around Swansea. This made sense, because I realised that NO huge lorries come up the road, it's too steep, narrow and twisting.

So, my first experience of an earthquake. 4. Something on the Richter scale. I'd missed the previous two in Stroud over the past twenty years.

The family returned to the house around 8 pm, and I said goodbye to the beautiful dog. I hope I will return again. It's such a peaceful retreat, give or take the odd earthquake. Tonight Steve and Bomble will be my companions: farewell to the white bedroom, white sheets, white dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.