Old favourite

We redid an old favourite walk today - the circuit of Harlaw and Threipmuir, although it's termed Black Hill, Green Cleuch, and Red Moss in the Pentlands walk book. It's also longer than the walk book says, as we measured it using the track logger (at 10.4 kms). This seems to be a common finding, that walks are longer when walked using a track logger than they are when measured using a little wheel on the map....

More importantly it was an epic number of steps and fitbit floors, so I feel duly satisfied this evening. This is a walk last done in 2014, and then I had to stop numerous times on the return leg because my knees were killing me. Absolutely killing me. This time I had two stops. One because I was tired (after the uphill bit) (which is where I took the blip) and one because my right knee was hurting after a segment on tarmac. It took us a long time, but I don't think I'm as tired as last time (when I feel asleep in the chair for 90 minutes in the afternoon).

And now the important thing is to build from here, which is all the more likely because we are doing walks like this already in February, so that holds out hope for longer and harder ones to come later in the year.

I put a screenshot of the route in the extra.

Broke, nay smashed, the barriers of 10k steps in a walk and 20k steps in a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.