The intention...

... of this painting was one of those snow scenes where you see pink skies.

But then I remembered you said to wake you when I saw one of these at night, because you said you'd never seen pink skies at night with snow. But I never saw it again.

I carried on painting...pink, scarlet, white, phthalo blue and burnt umber for the tree trunks. But it didn't quite look like a snow scene, and then I thought, am I painting cherry trees again? But it wasn't that either...

So I carried on painting and introduced that creamy naples yellow, and I realised I was trying to paint an emotional memory.

On the Thursday you surprised me with an parcel and told me not to open it until I got home. I was in a state of shock to find it was an antique cream silk wedding dress. I tried it on. It fitted perfectly. I danced gaily round the room.

It was the most beautiful dress I had ever seen and tried on.

We talked on the Saturday into the early hours, and you were talking about the past and ghosts. You wanted me to write this ghost story which was personal to you. It was important to you to have it now. So I stayed up until the sun rose tapping away at the typewriter. Then I went to show you the story which I had in my hand. But you had died a short while before at dawn, and your eyes were wide open.

You never saw how beautiful that cream silk wedding dress was on me.

This painting is about my emotions and stuff. It needs to be done again much bigger and will probably be something very personal which I may not let anyone see.

My painting today for my pic a day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.