River God

The River God
I may be smelly, and I may be old,
Rough in my pebbles, reedy in my pools,
But where my fish float by I bless their swimming
And I like the people to bathe in me, especially women.
But I can drown the fools
Who bathe too close to the weir, contrary to rules.
And they take their time drowning
As I throw them up now and then in a spirit of clowning.
Hi yih, yippity-yap, merrily I flow,
O I may be an old foul river but I have plenty of go.

Extract from River God by Stevie Smith

Is there no strip of water safe?? Yes, today, it being a bit damp and mizzlyish, we headed for Glengarriff Woods where the cold and very clear water looked enticing to some. Might be worth biggifying for the full splendour!

The Great Wall - full on effects, mad story, plenty of action, suitably yucky bad things, tiny tough female General and two leads enjoying themselves - better than we thought it was going to be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.