Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

850. 90/100 days of portraits - the dummy debate!

Visited the wee man this morning to drop off my Avon order for his Mum who has just signed up to be an Avon lady!  And....he was grumpy..he isn't sleeping either during the night or during the day so he's completely shattered....so he's constantly asking for his dummy....now that started a very heated debate between me and his Dad (Mum's with me on this one!)  I would never let a child just wander around during the day with a dummy because I believe that it can push their teeth forward and also stops them from speaking properly...now I say this from a professional stand point...having been a Speech and Language Therapist before I retired....so dummies are fine for sleeping but not as a constant comforter when they're awake in my book....so....Dad kept just giving the wee man his dummy as soon as he started moaning about something......and Mum kept trying to distract him but no...Dad insisted that he could have his dummy whenever he wanted....and harsh words were exchanged!  So now I'm person non grata......with the wee man's Dad.....oh well....it's always difficult as a grandparent to decide whether or not to speak up when something doesn't seem sensible...but on this one I felt I couldn't keep quiet.....maybe I should next time :(

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.