Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Walking

Today we went for a walk along the coastal path towards the mouth of the Camel Estuary. A bracing walk, particularly in some of the more exposed parts but rewarding for some superb views across the estuary and out to sea. The picture is of the view fairly close to Padstow looking across to Rock, with the Padstow to Rock ferry making it's way past the 'Doom Bar' sandbank, which has given its name to a rather good locally brewed beer.

I've (hopefully) added an extra which was interesting. A large cast iron circle with maker's markings 'Douglass Bro's Blaydon On Tyne C & M 1888'. It was next to some Second World War gun emplacements by the estuary and until I saw the date thought it could have been some sort of gun base but it pre-dates the war by a considerable time. It's in the wrong place to be some sort of warning light for shipping and quite a way past where the old railway would have terminated. A bit of a puzzle; I like to be able to work out what things are! I wonder if Douglass Bro's are still operating in Blaydon?

I finally managed to upload yesterday's Blip this morning when we found a coffee shop with Wi-fi. I'll have a go uploading this using my phone this evening but I suspect it will end up as another back-blip tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.