Relaxed Dude (Dendrocopos major)

I've blipped a Greater Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major) at our feeder before (2016 and 2015)  but today the snowy background and the side lighting from the sun mean the bird is seen really clearly. I also liked the pose, he's somehow relaxed. The red spot on his head shows he is male.
These birds are great omnivores and this allows them to survive anywhere with trees, so their northern limit is the where the forest can no longer grow, a long way north of here! I've seen them eating peanuts, fat, meat, and various seeds. I've also seen them raiding nesting boxes for both eggs and baby birds.
One of the first signs of spring is when these woodpeckers start drumming to advertise their presence and territory. I heard it for the first time this year five days ago. There's a particularly fine sounding old telephone pole right next to our garden that gets used for this, which can get irritating as dawn moves earlier and earlier
But to be honest I'll happily accept an early awakening now and again, knowing it means these handsome survivors are living in the forest around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.