The Things That Surround Us

Dear Diary,

I have been reading about the Danish concept of hygge and how it contributes to our overall sense of well being and contentment.  It seems to be all the rage right now.  The Danes are often said to be the happiest people on earth and many are asking why.  Personally, I think a lot has to do with social considerations, like free healthcare and education, that remove many stresses from their lives.  But a lot also has to do with how they approach life.

Some think hygge is a decorating style, think white walls, simple furniture and lots of candles.  But I think it is much more than that; it is a way to surround yourself with things you love and which touch your soul in some way.  This shelf in my breakfast room is my approach to hygge.  Each object contributes to my sense of well being and happiness.  Some are family pieces, most are things I bought because I loved them.  None are valuable monetarily but all enrich my life in subtle but visual ways.

I was talking to the daughter of my neighbor who now lives in a nursing home.  He no longer is surrounded by the things of his life that brought him joy.  I find it so terribly sad to have to live in such an impersonal, sterile world.  The ideal would be to stay surrounded by your special things until the end but if that becomes impossible perhaps a picture will be as good.  I suspect one of my motivations for doing this journal is to record and remember those little things in my life.  Maybe, someday, it will be all I have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.