Funchal

Madeira's capital is stunningly beautiful from so many angles. This was taken from the President's Garden, the Quinta Vigia. It used to be free to visit this lovely place but they now charge one euro per person. From this vantage point you can see most of the Marina, the promenade as far as the Fort and beyond, and in the foreground, the new Pestana Cristiano Ronaldo CR7 hotel.

I was looking down at the harbour and I saw some unusual movement. For a moment I wondered if it was Old Lobo (the geriatric Monk Seal reputed to visit the Marina.) It wasn't. But I had the courage to ask the policeman on duty about this story. He confirmed that the Lobos are now confined and protected on the Islas Desertas, but he also said that from time to time, families of monk seals visit both Funchal and Camara do Lobos for fish, then returning to Desertas.

I shall keep a look out.

my extras - another friendly Monarch, and the Carnaval structures are being sorted. Excitement is building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.