Shaking the Tree: Pruning the Red Elm

I visited the Arboretum very briefly on this mild morning, and what I saw brought me to a halt! There were three men up in the red elm, swinging from ropes, using various implements to prune it.

It was not a thing I have ever seen before. In fact, there are big signs all around the red elm warning people not to stand on its roots or climb it. So of course, I had to stop, and watch, and take pictures.

What I really, really wanted was to walk past the men and down into the field behind the elm where I often stand to photograph the tree from behind. What a great shot they would have made against the rising sun.

I also had a million questions I wanted to ask. How is the elm doing? Is it healthy? Do its roots grow strong? Is there anything about it that worries them? How grows my beloved tree?

But, in the end, I did none of that. I didn't want to intrude on their work. Or, heaven forbid, distract one of them such that they might fall and be injured right in front of me. And it would be all my fault!

So I stood and watched, and admired their handiwork and their agility, and in the end was simply grateful that there are such people who take care of this magnificent tree.

The instant I saw the men working, I knew this would be our song for this day and this photo. The tune is Peter Gabriel's marvelous Shaking the Tree. I'm including two versions: one from the Secret World Live tour, and a video version with Youssou N'Dour, the song's co-author.  By the way, Shaking the Tree is also the name of Gabriel's 1989 greatest hits album and every song on it is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.