Starring: the B.L.T.!

"Enjoy every sandwich." - Warren Zevon

When we were at Couch's on Monday for lunch, my husband picked up a couple of nice tomatoes, on sale at the very reasonable price of 99 cents a pound. As soon as I saw them, I knew just what I wanted sometime this week: B.L.T.'s!

We are big fans of nice sandwiches; in fact, this is how we ushered in the new year. On January 1, my first Blip photo to kick off 2017 was a picture of the makings of a bacon, lettuce, and tomato sandwich. (You may have noticed that I like mine with a slice of cheese and a bit of mayo - only Hellmann's is allowed in our house.)

And so on Tuesday night, I begged my husband to cook us some bacon, which he did, and we had a pair of delightful B.L.T.'s. In fact, they were so wonderful that I ate mine up and spent the evening sitting around wishing I had another!

Wednesday morning, I was getting ready for work, and when it came time to get my lunch ready, I rummaged around the fridge and discovered - much to my great happiness - some leftover bacon! (As a friend of mine said, "What is this 'leftover bacon' of which you speak?")

So I packed the makings of this sandwich into my lunch bag, and I truly wondered how long it would make it into my day before it got eaten. The answer: 10:15 a.m. I could almost SMELL the bacon through my lunch sack. In fact, it seemed to be calling my name!

And so I toasted my bread and I assembled my snack, layer by layer. And then I cut it in half, and before eating it, I snapped a few pictures. This was one of my favorites. (Actually, they might ALL have been my favorite!)

Starting at the top, we have: toasted wheat bread, mayo, lettuce, tomato, cheddar cheese, bacon, more lettuce, more mayo, more bread. It looks quite tall, and in fact it was! And it was even better than it looks (if that's possible).

I love Warren Zevon's music, and every time I eat a sandwich, I think of his quote, which I included above. It's a good reminder to enjoy (and not take for granted) the simple things in life, such as a tasty sandwich.

I usually select a song to go with each picture, and so I'll pick one of Warren's that is a favorite of mine. And I don't think I'll ever get to use it on Blip because - well, when would I ever get to photograph a WEREWOLF!??? So here is Warren Zevon, with Werewolves of London.

For the lovers of sandwiches, here are some related blips:
Enjoy Every Sandwich: the Bonfatto's Tuna Sub
American Cuisine: the Cheesesteak
The Late-Night Toasted Cheese Sandwich Frenzy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.