Full Moon Games: Frosty the Snowmoon

The February moon became officially "full" at 1:20 pm on this day. When it rose over the trees around 6:30 in the evening, golden and shining and beautiful, of course you know where I was. I was standing on my front porch holding my camera, with my face turned skyward. For you know how I love to play with the full moon!

All of the full moons have names, and many of them are poetic and beautiful. I like the way they roll off the tongue. There are juicy stories behind the names, as well we know. This one is called the Full Snow Moon, or the Full Hunger Moon. Where I live, February is often one of the snowiest months; thus also, a time of year when those out foraging often went hungry. Beautiful, cold, snowy, hungry February moon.

The moon was too low in the sky at first for me to see it well. There are trees between our yard and the spot on the horizon where the moon rises. So I crossed the road carefully in the dark and snapped a few shots from the development across the road.

One of the things I enjoy doing is framing the moon in interesting ways. A moon shining through or around something can often be more interesting than a moon straight-up. So I often shoot through or around tree branches and leaves. And/or give me a moon with some clouds; hoo-boy, what a show we shall have!

On this night, there was haze but not really any interesting clouds. And so I used the trees in my moon-framing games. I thought the moon looked like its face had been covered in hair or something. And the top part seemed almost like a little fuzzy hat sitting atop the moon's head. I was reminded of Frosty the Snowman (or perhaps, better this: Snowmoon), and I smiled.  :-)

The song to accompany this rather silly image is Abba, with The Name of the Game.

I am a lover of the moon, and so it seems I am photographing it constantly. I am also a backpacker, and the moon means more to my kind than it does to most normal people. It can be the light we backpackers live by, in our little tent-homes away from home.

I thought it would be fun to include here links to some of my favorite Blip moon shots. Those who are fellow moon enthusiasts may enjoy clicking on a few of these links. In no particular order . . .

Present Like an Archangel
The Wolves Are Silent; Only the Moon Howls
Love Song for a Broken-Hearted Moon
December Moon
Dream Dancing with the Full Wolf Moon
Moonshadow
Yesterday He Had the Blues
Dancing in the Moonlight
The Rise of the Full Hunter's Moon
Good Morning, Moon
Thanksgiving's Full Lace Moon; and Gratitude
Full Moon Rising Over the Valley of the Elk
The Light By Which My Spirit's Born
Full Strawberry Moon
The Moon Was a Ghostly Galleon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.