Sweet Surrender: Winter Reflections at Whipple Dam

It was another sunny and balmy day in a long string of mild days, and so I took an impromptu vacation day and we went for a drive. We decided to eat at Couch's and walk around Whipple Dam and enjoy the sunny afternoon.

It turns out that we hadn't been to Couch's for lunch since late October, and that was also our most recent visit to Whipple Dam as well. On that day, I photographed the reflections of blue sky and autumn colors on the lake.

This may have been the first time I've ever seen the lake with ice on it, because we just don't tend to go there in the winter time of year. It was only a little bit of ice here and there - you can a white patch of it in the middle of this photo. Otherwise, it was all open water and reflections: green, green trees and blue, blue sky.

The song for this view needs to be a John Denver tune, and I think this is one that will fit the bill: Sweet Surrender.

I don't know where I'm goin' I'm not sure where I've been
There's a spirit that guides me, a light that shines for me
My life is worth the livin', I don't need to see the end
Sweet, sweet surrender, live, live without care
Like a fish in the water, like a bird in the air

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.