Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Penultimate clearance

One of my last visits to mum and dad's house last Tuesday, mainly to clear things from the greenhouse.  There were lots of old terracotta pots  which I've collected together for a friend who uses them for her cactus collection.  Some of the larger ones I'll use myself in the garden.  There's  still a bit more to sort/ collect when I go again but on Tuesday I got as much in the car as I could.  The final handing over will come on Friday, so I'm intending to visit again tomorrow to do meter readings and collect the final few items.  It will be both sad and a big relief.

My mindset is not too focused on taking photos at the moment and my camera stayed in my bag yesterday.  I have, however, been fairly pre-occupied with collecting together camera club images and prints for the forthcoming Yorkshire Region Annual exhibition and we had an inter-club competition with Stocksbridge last Monday, which I'd packed up a few weeks ago.  When we got there it became apparent that the judge was viewing the images for the first time on the night, so I wasn't a happy bunny.  I always knew we were likely to lose as they have one of the best photo club wildlife photographers in Yorkshire in their club.  Our print scores were close but we were way behind with our digital images.  I think the main positive event of the evening was that we had ten photographers who scored 17 (out of 20) points in the evening, whereas their work was almost exclusively the work of their three most experienced photographers.  It might sound a bit like sour grapes but I think it's time we set a few rules if we are going to continue with these events.  I did cost me dearly in time and effort to make sure that we involved as many club members as possible, both in the submission and selection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.