Meet Huginn Or Muginn ( What's In A Name )

How is an ancient street sign seen here and a raven linked ? Woden,in German Odin was a Norse God who had two ravens named Huginn (old Norse this meant thought) & Muginn  (memory or mind)  It was their task to fly all over the world observing and bringing the information back to Woden. So far so good. Now to Salford which was once a very poor city. My mother was born there in  Sunnyside Street .I doubt it  saw much sun. Near to the Irwell and running across Woden Street it was  awful.I saw it ! Only Woden Street survived the demolition. It remained marked with one broken wall and another, each with a sign. In 1987 & a 1st birthday out of UK friends turned up as a surprise . They had with them this street sign .On their way home after the Halle  they came across it on the ground &  agreed it was what I'd like .They were right . Woden Street could explain my passion for  Corvids .On every visit I go there like some homing bird,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.