Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pin the Tail...

What a lovely day I had.  It started early this morning when I heard the distinctive "turalee" song of a bluebird - right outside the window on the cherry tree.  I've actually been hearing one sing for the last few days, but hadn't yet seen it.  Encouraging that he was atop the tree, as that may signal that he's got his eye on one of my nest boxes.  

Just after the bluebird sighting, as I was walking down the drive to get our paper, I saw a bright red cardinal singing his spring song from high up in a maple tree.  Somewhere on the Lane, I could hear another cardinal counter-singing.  It has just been in the last couple of days that the cardinals have started singing again - and what a wonderful sound!  And if that wasn't enough, there was also a red-winged blackbird singing his "conk-a-ree" spring song somewhere in the yard.

After such a good start to the day, I decided to head up to Wallkill River Nat'l. Wildlife Refuge to see if I could spot some harriers.  In fact, I did see three harriers hunting over the marsh, but it was the several hundred Northern Pintail Ducks that stole the show.  First pintails I've seen this year and they didn't disappoint - the drakes (the two in front here) are in full breeding plumage and sporting their long namesake tail feathers.  As with most ducks, the females (bringing up the rear here) are much less showy.  I wish this were a better picture so that you could see their handsome chocolate heads and vibrant chin-strap - maybe next time.

I also saw several flocks of mostly Canada Geese passing over the marsh, each well over 1,000 birds.  It was pretty amazing.  If you are on FB, I've posted a 20-second public video HERE showing the flock approaching - gives you some idea as to the sheer size.  

It was definitely a day to make me so very grateful that I am still able to hear, albeit it only in one ear.  I can't imagine not being able to hear the sounds of nature.

Tomorrow is going to be nearly 70 F which might well be a record for this time of year.  I'll definitely be spending as much time as possible outside.

Five other photos from the marsh posted HERE on Flickr.

Cheers.

xo
Debbi

PS: Also had a short visit with MIL who was in good spirits, considering that she had a very busy day yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.