Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Patrons of the Parking Lot

On just about any winter day, I can find large numbers of Ring-billed Gulls in one particular shopping center parking lot.  The lot is about 4 miles from the county landfill where hundreds of gulls can be found year round, foraging for food.  These medium-sized gulls are one of the most common in N. America and easily recognizable by the namesake ring on their bill.  They are noisy and mischievous and entertaining to watch.  Because they are so common, I tend not to pay them much attention, but today decided to watch them for a bit.  This one, which I believe to be an adult in non-breeding plumage was quite vocal and seemed rather put out with most of the other gulls.  Cheeky.

We took MIL out for a visit to a new doctor today to follow up on some irregular numbers in her recent blood workup.  She was in good spirits but a little confused about where she was.  This did not, however, stop her from flirting up a storm with the doctor who was a very good sport.  When we went back to the retirement home, there was a bingo came underway, so we got her settled in with a bingo card.  Last seen, she was intent on filling her lines on the card, or as she like to say "kicking everyone's ass".  

Hubs and I are planning a quiet evening at home - he to get caught up on work and me to do... well, nothing, actually.  Doing nothing sounds like exactly what I want.  Tomorrow, the temps are going to be in the 60's so I'm heading north to see if I can catch the harriers out again.  Hopefully the trail around the marsh will be dry enough for me to hike around it - last time I was there it was still way too icy.  

Thanks for stopping by.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.