Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

You again?

I had an enjoyable, if cold, hour outside this morning while the sun was still low.  The birds were active, the light was lovely and the time spent outside was like balm to my soul.  Exactly what I needed.

I was torn between this white-throated sparrow (Yardbird #13) or the male red-breasted nuthatch hiding sunflower seeds.  In the end I settled on this one because I liked the way his jaunty yellow brows seemed almost lit up from within.

The 2 red-breasted nuthatches are now visiting the feeders together and I believe they may be a pair.  The differences between male and female are subtle, but when seen together I am quite certain one is male and the other female.  I've seen no signs of courting behavior, but they are certainly talking a lot and seem to be spending more time together.  I expect that, any day now, they'll leave to head further north.  Leaving the yard just a bit less cute when they go.   Oh, heck, I'll put the male in Extra just for fun!

Had a good visit with MIL today.  She was in good spirits and more aware of her surroundings than some days.  We had some laughs and some hugs, and I massaged her hands with lotion, which I think we both enjoyed.  I love holding her hands - they are so small and fragile looking, but also very strong.  Although a lot of her interactions with the other residents are shaped by her dementia, she is definitely connecting with people - it is good to see her laughing and sharing little moments with other people.  

The next few days are going to be unseasonably warm, so I'm hoping I might be able to find something to aim my macro lens at...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.