Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome back, Number 18

There have been Eastern Bluebirds around our property all week, and today there were two males and one female, all checking out nest boxes.  The favorite seems to be this box which is, coincidentally, the same box that a pair used for their first brood last year.  It is placed in a small pollinator garden, right off the patio, which makes for excellent viewing.  You can see the male here, singing his sweet song from the top of the box - Yardbird #18 to be photographed this year.  I've posted another picture of him perched on a branch HERE on Flickr

This morning on my way to get the paper there were cardinals singing all over the Lane, two flocks of Canada Geese flew by far overhead, several blackbirds were singing from the garden and the air was alive with the beautiful songs of the house finches.  Add to that the harmony of the bluebirds and .... well, I can't think of any better orchestra to start the day.  
We set a record high temp yesterday, smashing the previous record by some 5 degrees.  Today will be more of the same.  And I'm not complaining!  In fact, if I my heart wasn't set on blipping Monsieur Bleu, I would have been out searching for insects.  Oh, you're right - I'll still go out searching for insects - who am I kidding?

Hubs had to make an unexpected trip to south New Jersey today to deal with an emergency at one of the hotels  his company manages.  Not sure if he'll need to stay overnight, but definitely a possibility.  

As for me, I've got a date with the optometrist this afternoon to get my vision checked.  I rely mostly on my left eye since the vision in my right is essentially non-functional.  It seems like I've been having some problems lately with vision, so just want to make sure there is nothing going on with my good eye.  Besides, I'm wanting a new pair of glasses!  

Windows in the house are open, and I can hear the bluebird out there singing, so I'm signing off.  Thank you so much for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.