Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Dundreich - The Day after Doris

A lovely cold day in Edinburgh today. My last bike ride of my week off.I follow the same 76.2km ride I did on Tuesday. It is very snowy and clear. The snowline is about 230m ASL. Climbing out of Penicuik, East and West Kip are starkly white against the blue sky, Extra 1. From Lamancha I drop below the snow line to Romannobridge.

At Drochil, south of Romannobridge, my GPS decides to freeze. I don't know why. I stop at Lyne to try to rest it to no avail, so I use my phone to record my ride stats home. Climbing to Meldon, I stop to get Extra 2 of a white Black Meldon on the left, an extra on Tuesday., with its twin White Meldon, on the right.

There's quite a bit of snow in the road at the top of the pass, and a nice long descent in to Eddleston. On to the Fala Toll road, where I climb again above the snow line for the last time. Just after Westloch, I stop to get a photo of Dundreich, my main blip. It is looking very alpine with the snow on the trees.

I stay above the snowline until I get to the road to Auchendinny.There is a fast descent here, and the sharp wee climb up through the village to New Milton. the clouds are coming in, and the sun is milky in the sky when I get home. I quickly clean my bike to get rid of the salt.

A very quiet afternoon, and I have coffee at home. In the evening I go out to meet up with some friends for a meal at Dishroom. Very nice food. We get a post meal drink at a nearby pub, but the Welsh are in town for Saturday's match with Scotland at Murrayfield, so its a bit crowded, so only the one then.

A nice evening out and a great day to be off work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.