Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Romannobridge, Tuesday Morning Bike Ride.

A dry and breezy day. Not as breezy as yesterday. I do the same route as I did on Sunday, but without the slight detour on to the Moor Rd which is shut.

Despite it being breezier, my progress is a bit faster. My heart rate monitor is working correctly, and I can judge my efforts more accurately.

Once out of Edinburgh, the roads are quite quiet, even the busy A roads. Between Penicuik and Leadburn, my Extra from 30th April 2016 has been demolished, it was there on Sunday.

From Leadburn to Romannobridge, I cycle right in to the wind.This is a 10km of rough road. I'm glad to take the turn off to head south.There's a bit of a crosswind to start, but just over the Newlands Bridge, I decide to stop, get my blip, and a take a gel to keep my energy levels up. The crosswind isn't much of a problem.

Once on the A72, the wind pushes me eastwards, and in no time, I am on the Lyne to Eddleston road. At Meldon, I stop and get the Extra below of the Black Meldon Hill. Then its up over the pass and the nice descent in to Eddleston. Which is still pretty muddy.

On to the A703 for 4km north and then a right turn on to the Fala Toll road. The first km is all up hill with a couple of switch backs. And then a rolling road for the next 6km or so. Being blown along until I get near the Gladhouse reservoir. Then there's a very rough climb up toxsidehill. I manage this in the large chainring, and then a fast ride to the B6372.

The wind has become more southerly now, and that means a fierce crosswind. There is a descent to start with. Where the road crosses Fullarton Water, the wind gets funnelled, and there's the prospect of being blown across the road if you are not careful. The crosswind also makes the climb up to Mount Lothian a bit interesting. I stop there for another gel.

The wind is definitely stronger than when I started, so I take it easy to Pomathorn and the B7026. It's a nice descent, wind assisted through Loanstone, to Auchendinny. Auchendinny Brae is not as bad as usual. Its the usual route along the A701 and A703, Seafield Moor Rd back home.

76.2km as I didn't have a diversion this time.


I spend the afternoon with a quick trip around some charity shops and coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.