Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Riding Hill

A lovely day, and with my partner meeting a friend for lunch, I go for a morning bike ride. Its cold, but not freezing. Once I am out of the city, the traffic disappears. To warm up, i take the climb out of Auchendinny. Once at the top I turn left, cycle over Mount Lothian, then head south passing Toxside and Gladhouse Reservoir to the A703. At Eddleston, I take the turn signed Lyne via Meldons. This is a climb and descent down to the A72.

Just before I reach the A road, I stop and take a shot of Riding Hill, with a single patch of snow near the summit. I also get a bite to eat.

Then along the A72 to the B7059. This follows the Lyne Water up to Romannobridge. From there I follow the route home that I did on Sunday. Head through Bogsbank to West Linton, turning on to Deanfoot road takes me to Harlaw Muir and past Auchencrth Moss and Hare Moss. Almost altitude training, its 2 degC here, but it is warming up. The A701 takes me through Penicuik. I turn off at Gowkley Moss to head back home through Bush and along the Seafield Moor Road.

Total distance 81.3km. (50 and a bit miles)


A quiet afternoon. Did a bit of bike maintenance, then a walk around the park. This ended at the bakers, where I bought some millionaire shortbread to have with afternoon coffee.

A nice relaxing day.

On another note, my partner went in to a charity shop and bought a Hawaiian shirt for £3.50. Told you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.