The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Oyez! Oyez!

A shout of Town Criers ( if that is the collective noun) and the Mayor of Nailsworth gathered today in the Mortimer Gardens, Nailsworth, to present an award to Tony, Nailsworth's own town crier, for completing 25 years of service.

If you thought Town Criers only existed in the era of the Muffin Man of Drury Lane and Dick Whittington, think again! They are alive and well in the Cotswolds, though I never see any in Stroud. Generally they make announcements (such as the date of the next Farmers' Market) and every utterance must end with the words 'God-Save-the QUEEN!'. This is England, folks!

I couldn't get close during the actual ceremony, as the paparazzi was out in force. And I had a stall to run, of course! So this shot was taken beforehand, when I reckoned I had my best chance of a snap. I think the lady n front of me is one of the guests of honour.

The market was ok, but cold. After we got home (via the pub because Steve had to meet someone) I had a bath to warm.myself up, then jumped into bed because I was still cold. Started watching Emma on catchup TV, the BBC version, but fell asleep! Woke up and watched a couple of episodes. Great escapism!

Now we're in front of the fire once again, full of our Saturday night curry, watching a documentary about pleasure steamers on the Clyde. Born too late, I was! Not for the Town Criers, mind you ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.