Little Miss Climber

I had my annual panic about the Great North Swim this morning so after dropping the Little Misses off I carried onto the swimming pool.
The last time I went swimming - probably about this time last year!! - I did 32 lengths in about half an hour. This morning I did 40 lengths in about thirty eight minutes. Before dying of boredom and having to get out!!
For the Great North Swim in June I need to be able to swim a mile without drowning. I'm looking forward to the lake near Oxford opening in April so I can practise without getting so bored!!
From swimming I popped to the bank to pick up some forms to open a bank account for Miss L. I've been meaning to do it since she was born and as she was seven last week I thought it was about time!!
After queuing for twenty minutes the woman told me there were no forms - I had to make an appointment to come and see them about it. Sigh!
Appointment made for next Monday morning. 
Perhaps I'll go for a swim before I go!!
The rest of the day was taken up with studying and then taking Miss E to her rock climbing. 
For some reason halfway through the lesson she went off to the bouldering section and spent the rest of the time there, climbing up and down.
I had to laugh when a woman I didn't recognise sat next to me with a child I didn't recognise and helped her on with her harness. When the girl had gone I asked if it was her daughter's first lesson?
No, she said. She's been coming since September. 
I laughed and apologised for being so unobservant.
She looked a bit withering and said yeah, you're normally sat with your pregnant friend and all your children and don't talk to anyone else.
And then went back to staring at her phone for the next hour and a half.
Well that's me told!!!!
My "pregnant friend" - Mrs E - wasn't there tonight and I wondered if there was any news but her husband was and he said no news yet.
Maybe it'll be "all our children" plus one next time!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.