SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Party success!

Didn't think I'd have to do a backblip quite so soon into my journey with Blipfoto, but c'est la vie!  It couldn't be helped as it just was too full of a day prepping for my all girls dance party.  I also really wanted to include this special event as part of my journal.  What a fun night!  I feel so honoured to be doing 'life' with these lovely ladies.

The past few months, the phrase be kind to yourself has become a mantra that I utter frequently.  Being a first born perfectionist, the measure I've often set for myself has been too high and at times unrealistic.  I'm all for being the best I can be and doing the best I can, but especially in this last decade, I've been learning to let go and let be.  To simplify life, to not demand so much of myself and to intentionally live and enjoy each day to the fullest, are just a few things I've embraced.  One realization as I'm getting older is, that the rhythm and pace of daily life has to change and what I was capable of as a young Mom, I may not be able to do as a Nana.  That's why it's called retirement. ;)

So back to my mantra...be kind to yourself.  It's what I'm trying to practise and model in my life, for as I'm kind to myself I'll be kind to others.  Perhaps it's something that women struggle with more than men and maybe even more predominant in our culture here on the west coast of North America. Regardless, I hope I never stop learning or growing or challenging myself and risking more to becoming a better version of me than I was the day before. Not striving, but living a life full of grace and kindness, being thankful for every breath I take.  


PS I shamelessly included a couple extras.  The charcuterie board my daughter beautifully created and the goodie bags I sent home with the ladies. I love giving gifts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.