Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Missing You Already

I received a call a short while ago that my friend, Laura (on right), had died suddenly. As with all things of this nature, it has shocked and saddened me. She was in her 60's.

Laura was a wonderful person. She was a member of the Democratic Women in Action well before I became president in 2007.  She was currently the Political Director of Arizona List (the state equivalent of Emily's List) which supports, in all kinds of ways, women pro-choice candidates. This was her second stint in that role.  She took time between them to act as the Political Director of the Arizona AFL-CIO.  She once told me she had two passions in her life:  women's rights and labor rights.

Unlike many of us, Laura lived her passions, and in the process, directly impacted thousands of lives.  Few people can say they have lived a life so worthy. She will be missed by Democrats, workers and women from every corner of our state. I will be attending the annual Arizona List fundraising luncheon in a couple of weeks. There will be many tears for my missing friend.

Residents of Michigan and progressive, activist women should recognize the other woman in the photo.  It is two-term MI Governor, Jennifer Granholm. 
This picture was originally taken at the 2015 AZ List luncheon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.