A Revelation

Having just discovered that our local library had links to many historical records I idly entered my grandfather’s name in the Cemetery Records for the town where he was born, lived most of his life, and died. There was no result, though my grandmother was listed. That was strange. There is a used, but unmarked plot next to Nannie’s grave and I had always assumed it was Pop’s grave. I did a more general search and found him in a distant cemetery with his brothers and sisters. That was a surprise. I was 16 when he died, but lived too far away to attend the funeral. Other members of my immediate family made the trip. Why was nothing said about where he was buried? There is nobody to ask. Everyone who could tell me has died.

Now I want to go and see for myself, but the cemetery is in the area of the recent big earthquake. Roads are closed. I can’t see me driving on the very busy and long detours.

I feel strange. I lost my beloved Pop 60 years ago, but I now feel that I’ve lost him all over again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.