Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Birmingham Panorama

Had to visit Birmingham today with work.  I popped out for a short while at lunchtime to scout out some locations for a panoramic shot of the skyline. my intention will be to revisit later in the year, early in the morning, to capture sunrise over the city.

The use of Google maps had given me some likely locations so I headed up to the top deck of a multi-storey car park at the Wholesale Market.  What I hadn't realised was that there was Heras Fencing on the parapet.  Thankfully some of the metal mesh had been bent apart to allow a camera lens to poke through.  I obviously wasn't the first photographer up there!  You can see the Selfridges Building, Bull Ring, Rotunda, St Martin's and the BT tower.  It will be interesting to see how this view changes over the next few years.

I also took another shot from another car park of a close up of the old church and new Selfridges building

Technical: A 0.6 Neutral density medium grad was used in each shot to control the sky exposure. Back on the computer I carried out a three shot panoramic stitch, I then used a luminosity layer to enhance the sky detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.