Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Checking the Negatives

There was a sense of deja vu tonight, reviewing old images and trying to marry up the negatives to the printed image.  How quickly we have moved on from the laborious task of sliding negative strips into archive sleeves for future reference.  

In many ways the modern digital file should be so easy to manage and archive for easy retrieval, yet many do not.  I must admit, prior to my arrival on Blipfoto, my digital media management was somewhat slap dash.  Now I am very particular in making sure all files are catalogued against the day and subject, using tags to further define what was on the images.  It helps immensely to be able to use an application that supports this approach (in my case, Lightroom).

It certainly wasn't the case 30 years ago, no quick scanning in grid mode in the  expectation of spotting the image you were looking to find.  I doubt very much I will be able to find some of the negatives of much  cherished images from the film era.  

And then there is the interpretation of the negative image itself.  I think this is an image of friends sitting at our first dining table, with one of our cats, Holly, who is checking the possibility of licking plates.  But as ever with a negative, I could be totally wrong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.