Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Day of Spring

It certainly didn't feel like it standing with the camera taking this image.  Even the sky's hues didn't warm me that much, though it was a pleasure to see it colour up just before sunrise.

I was surprised to see this path through the field.  It certainly isn't a public footpath and hasn't been there in the past when I've photographed at this location.  I find it difficult to believe the farmer is happy; and the farmhouse is only another 50 metres away from where I was standing.  I suppose it has been there over the winter as the crop waits for the warmer weather to start growing.  We will have to see if it is there later in the year.

Technical:  I bracketed the exposure (3 frames, 2 stops apart) to make sure I got all of the detail I needed.  Took it into HDR Efex Pro and desaturated the end result, particularly the green of the field as it looked unnatural.  I'm experimenting with the Raya Pro panel plugin in Photoshop but haven't quite got it the way I want it, so I stuck to the familiar tools.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.