Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Spoons

I was all set for the fartlek today. If not actually looking forward to it. So when the SRS team put out a call for a last minute stand-in for the first match of the 7-a-side tournament, I was in.

I played out of my usual defensive position and, helped by an opposite number who ran out of puff after 5 minutes, I had a whale of a time. I attempted an overhead shot (failed) but managed to take another ball past the keeper and nick it back for a cheeky goal. I could have had a second goal in the second half - denied by a last-ditch foot from the keeper. It's just so easy when you're not in defence!
Our first game is tomorrow. Maybe I'll play up front!

In the evening, we met up with S who is slowly recovering from his stroke. He's noticeably improved but it's a slow haul and must be dispiriting after the relatively fast progress early on.

Here we see S and, err..., other S outside 'Spoons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.