fs2012

By FrankS

Memories

Today was the birthday of my step-father, Joseph May. He married my mother when I was eight (I think) and helped bring up me with my step brother and sister until I left them to go and live with my father. He died some years back. In later years he took up painting and became quite prolific until he was too ill do any more. I have one of his paintings in the garden room, Hessle Foreshore, close by the Humber Bridge (though that is not shown in the picture, possibly it wasn't built then).

Today's photo is also a memorial. It is taken in Stratford's Memorial Garden where the war memorial is. Every year we walk down to Old Town to listen to the memorial service at 11o'clock and watch the laying of the wreaths. I was surprised the wreaths from last November are still there and comparatively fresh looking, but I had already envisaged the photo I wanted a few days ago. Luckily (or by pure skill) the end result was as planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.