Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Goodbye St Lucia

Gavin and I enjoyed another early morning walk to the beach and back - a distance of just over 5km. Then after breakfast and packing up we went to a cafe on the marina that serves the most delicious fruit smoothies - sadly we discovered this late in our stay here! Gavin's brother and his wife left to fly home to Toronto and then after tidying up the boat and packing we had a quick salad lunch at that same beach. Now it was full of umbrellas and people enjoying the beach.

I don't quite know what to make of St Lucia. I think if one came here and spent a holiday in a beach resort it would be lovely, but I will never come sailing here again as it is just too windy for me. I guess the clue is in the name, the Windward Islands.
Good things about St Lucia - lovely, friendly people - good food - pleasant and quite pretty beaches (which I never got to enjoy)
Bad things about St Lucia - the ever changing weather - the extreme wind - a long flight to get here - the poverty

I have added an extra of another little boat - I love their colours.

Now we are off to the airport - I am looking forward to having my own bathroom again (ablution facilities in the marinas were not great) and good wifi again to connect back with the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.