Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

An odd anniversary

It was nine years ago today that I first heard the words "acoustic neuroma", two words that have changed my life in ways I could never have foreseen.  Most of you have probably never heard these words, so in the simplest of terms, they signify a rare type of brain tumor.  The good news is that the tumors are rarely cancerous; the bad news is that they can still kill you if left unchecked.  In my case, the tumor was starting to press into my brain stem which meant that surgery would be in my immediate future.  

Fast forward nine years...I've lost some of my sight, hearing and balance but my life is richer in so many ways.  I rediscovered my love of nature and photography; I stepped away from a stressful career; I learned to savor the Little Moments that occur every day if you just pay attention.  All in all, that brain tumor had some definite silver linings.

Today's photo is Yardbird # 19, a female red-winged blackbird (I'll put the male in Extra).  I picked her for today's Blip because I think she's just as pretty as her mate, although in a completely different way.  Also, she reminds me how grateful I am that I can still see, can still hear.  Also, it's rare that I can ever get a photo of these birds in my yard because 1) they don't visit all that often, and 2) the minute they see any trace of movement, they are up into the trees in a flash.  The only way I got this photo was to crouch on the deck, completely still, in the freezing cold, for about 20 minutes until a couple of the blackbirds got brave enough to land on the cherry tree.  As a reward, I scattered some cracked corn, and went back inside to let them eat in peace.  Thank you , blackbirds.

Runners up for today were the cardinals - there were six of them around the feeders and I have posted two photos starting HERE on FLickr

My friend, Ellie, is bringing her therapy dog Willo over to the retirement home after lunch today, so I'll plan to meet her there and then spend some time with MIL.

Smoothie for lunch for me, then a small quiche and salad for dinner.  I've found a very serviceable bottle of Rose that should compliment dinner perfectly.  

Be well, people.
xo
Debbi

PS:  if you'd like to see all of the photographed yardbirds thus far in 2017, you can view them here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.