An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Super Ed's Last Day...

Today was Ed's last day and he got to spend a chunk of it in the pool with Alan.   They had big fun!

Ed left a letter for Alan.  Recording it here for posterity.

My Dear Friend Alan,

As you probably know by now, age has caught up with me and it is now time for me to retire - for the third time!

It seems like only yesterday that we met for the first time - it was in your sitting room and I was the very nervous one whilst you remained calm and smiled and I immediately felt that we were going to be friends and have lots of adventures together.  Eventually we decided that we were a team and named ourselves Super Aly and Super Ed.

During the last four years we have explored many places and laughed at people we have seen.  I remember all the young ladies walking towards us smiling and always thought they were smiling at me until I saw you giving them one of your best "Super Aly" smiles - what a let down for me.

We have had some fantastic long walks down the town, in the park in Crieff and in many shopping centres where I've had a wee cup of tea and a biscuit and you have had milk and chocolate buttons.  We would sit for ages looking at people and laugh at their antics.

Do you remember the time I drove to Glasgow and I got lost?  I told you I didn't know where I was and instead of helping me you just laughed!

We also had great holidays with you which I know Elaine loved, especially when we let her come on adventures with us.  We walked around the fishing villages in Cornwall, along the seashore in France and in the towns in Northumbria.  I wasn't pleased when you and Elaine laughed at me when I had to push you up steep hills.

The time I have spent with you has been fantastic and you have given me memories that I will cherish for the rest of my life.  You have taught me many valuable lessons not least to watch out when you have a glint in your eye as I know you are about to whack me on the bum!  You, your mum and dad (the one with the bald head) are a very special family and I am sure you will have lots of adventures and laughs in the years to come.

Although I will not be working with you any more, I still hope to be your friend and see you when I can.  I hope to see you swimming in your new pool and using eye gaze - Ha ha!

Your friend 
Ed



We are going to miss Ed so much but are so thankful for the four years he's been with us.  Looking on the bright side we can now officially be friends rather than employers.  I suspect David and Kenny have a new golf buddy and Alan a pool buddy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.