An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Go to work on an egg...

Backblip

And the rest!  :-))  Amazingly under the Slimming World plan, this breakfast is free, if you count the toast as one of your healthy extras.  

David was at work today taking advantage of no interruptions to let him have a massive clear out.  Only 4 weeks till he finishes.

What I didn't mention on yesterday's blip (as I wanted it to be all about Alan and Ed) is that after eating a small amount of dinner last night, Alan threw up and this continued intermittently for the rest of the evening.  I wasn't much help as I am absolutely loaded with the cold and hardly able to move without sneezing, coughing and blowing my nose, plus I didn't want to be near Alan as on top of being sick, the last thing he needed was another cold.

At 10.30 we decided to call NHS 24 to see if someone would see him to give him an anti-sickness jab (since he's had his ileostomy we have to be careful with how much liquid he loses as he can easily become dehydrated) and they arranged for a GP to make a home visit to see him.

Poor Alan was absolutely desperate to get to his bed but we couldn't risk him lying down.  The three of us sat in his sitting room (me at the far end!) and waited for the doctor, taking it in turn to doze off then be crudely awoken with Alan's next bout of gagging.   I was feeling so sorry for us all.  Alan for experiencing another bout of ill health after having been through so much already, David for not being able to get to bed when he was having to go in to work next day, and me for being loaded with the cold and desperate for my bed, especially as it was to be my first night in my actual bed for months and months.

The doctor arrived at 1.30am and it was the same out of hours doc who saw Alan previously, which was great as he knew his history.  He administered the anti-sickness jab and within 20 minutes Alan was comfy in bed and sound asleep.   We finally got upstairs at 2.15am.  David wisely slept in the spare room for fear of catching my cold and I was so grateful.  Feeling rotten and after months of sleeping on a couch, all I wanted was the entire bed to myself, to stretch out to every corner if I wished :-))

Lights out 2.30am and 5 mins later....wide awake!   Arrrrrgh!   

Sat up, had more paracetamol, blew my raw nose and played solitaire on my phone till my eyes got heavy and I snuggled back down for a proper sleep.   Oh the joy of being back in my own bed :-))))

So today, thankfully Alan hasn't been sick since he had the jab last night.  He's been pretty tired and listless and not wanting to do much.  A bit like myself.  We've had a very quiet day.  

I went to have a chat with him to see if he wanted to have any dinner.  He didn't but did want tummy milk and a drink of milk, a step forward as he'd only been having water.  I gave him a drink of milk and Ashleigh gave him some tummy milk and 15 minutes later he'd perked up and was blethering and laughing.  Hoping it was just a 24 hour thing.

I still felt rubbish so after dinner, had a lemsip and put my feet up for the rest of the night.

One good thing about today (apart from Alan not being sick :) is David had a successful clear out a work.  A great feeling for him.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.